Books That Deserve More Hype

My last post was rather bleak but really helped me to get out some of my frustrations. I figured it was only fair after blasting some books to talk about some of my absolute favourite books that I feel don’t receive enough love and attention. These books all have a very special place in my heart and are all books that I have read time and time again. If you haven’t had a chance to read them I 1,000% recommend picking them up. I’ll try and write these without involving any spoilers but if I feel that they’re required I will, of course, tag them.

The Violet Eden Chapters by Jessica Shirvington

Image supplied by Pinterest

The Violet Eden Chapters was actually one of my most hated series’ for the longest time because I was unaware of Empower. I became so attached to the characters throughout the first four books but for some reason I didn’t know there was a fifth novel. Endless finishes in a way that will rip your heart out and it honestly left me feeling empty for about 3 years.

These books just flow; every sentence has a reason to be there. I detest “filler paragraphs” (sentences, chapters, etc. with no point except to make the book longer) and I personally feel like there aren’t any in this series. Jessica Shirvington has a way of writing characters that you can’t help but relate to and love, even if they are evil. Each character grows and develops throughout the story and everything is justified. They’re feelings and reasons for doing things are explained.

These books are amazing for fans of Fallen, Hush Hush, and anything relating to angels and/or magic. Soul mates? Check. Forbidden love? Check. Antagonists that you can’t help but love? Check. Epic battles? Check. These books are the perfect YA Fiction roundup that will keep you engrossed from the first sentence to the last.

The Dragonlance Chronicals by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

Image supplied by Amazon

If you could see my copies of these books you would instantly be able to tell that I love these more than any books in my collection. The spines are cracked and peeling and pages are torn in the corners. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve reread this trilogy. I don’t think they quite count as YA Fiction but I’ve loved them since I was about 10 and my mum, who is in her mid-40’s, loves them as well.

Set in the medieval world of Krynn the trilogy focuses on a group of friends who don’t really fit in anywhere else. Cue sword fights, magic, dragons, love, death and adventure. Each character has an interesting backstory that is explained at some point throughout the books. There are twists and turns around every corner that you won’t see coming and a whole new world of mythology and magic to wrap your head around. My only warning- though impossible, try not to get too attached to the characters. I’m only trying to protect your heart.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Image supplied by Wikipedia

I first read Vampire Academy when I was fresh into my Twilight phase (that was a great time in my life for reading, don’t try and change my mind). While my love for cheesy vampire novels isn’t at the forefront of my mind anymore they still have a soft spot in my heart. Vampire Academy and its spin-off series isn’t as loved as it was back in the height of the vampire craze and that breaks my heart. I recently reread the entire series in about two days (I don’t think I left my room very much during that time, I became a bit of a gremlin) and I laughed, cried and felt so incredibly nostalgic.

If you’re looking for something that will remind you of your Twilight phase (don’t lie to me – everyone had one) without all of the cringing then these books are for you. They’re still just as relevant in 2019 as they were in 2007-2010 and they still have the same gotta-keep-reading-can’t-put-down feeling for me.

You might see a wee bit of a theme here but I’m a sucker for anything that involves sarcastic heroines, forbidden love and magic. Chuck in a slightly brooding male love interest and Bob’s your uncle. Also, I loved the movie; fight me if you disagree.

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Image supplied by That One Geek Girl Reviews

Destiny brought them together. The gods will keep them apart.

Josephine Angelini

Greek gods meddling in the lives of humans? Never! Fun fact about me, I’ve had a strange fascination with the Greek gods since I can remember; I told my Religion teacher in year six that I didn’t believe in Jesus because I believed in Zeus. You should have seen her face when she discovered I was studying Greek mythology in year 12.

Starcrossed, as you could probably tell, is about a pair of star-crossed lovers. Kind of. Chuck in the Furies and you’ve got a great enemies-to-lovers-to-forbidden-romance trope. In this trilogy you can expect romance, awkwardness, magical powers, meddling gods and witty one-liners thanks to Claire, the best friend. There are twists and turns that will keep you on your toes and some of the most well-written battle scenes.

There are so many other novels that I could write about but I feel like this was a great start for now. Have you read any of these books? What did you think? If you haven’t read them do you think you would? What books do you love that you feel don’t get enough hype? Or what books do you feel are overhyped and don’t deserve the love? I love seeing what other people think.

One thought on “Books That Deserve More Hype

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s